The obligatory introductory post!

I’ve finally come to the conclusion that I’d like a place to consolidate some of my thoughts and ramblings about science. While I work in a basic-science academic lab, in auditory neuroscience, I won’t be posting anything in terms of specifics of my day to day work, as pre-published data isn’t generally public information. But no doubt my bias will be clear, I find the ear to be an amazing organ, and there are many cool things to talk about there.

And a bit about the title: I believe that “bottom-up” is my preferred way of learning about any topic. Oh, I fully admit that often one can’t see the forest through the trees with this approach, but I firmly believe that if you don’t know what’s going on at the most basic level, well, you don’t really know what’s going on. And I really liked the double meaning of bottom/ground up and the deconstructionist “ground-up” approach, because sometimes, you know, I do that too.

To get some idea of what I’m about, here’s my talk from Notacon 9 this year:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

